Home » Life » I’m “That Mom”

I’m “That Mom”

That woman you heard snapping at kids who weren’t listening while attempting to try on dresses she can’t afford that her husband suggested and subsequently ended up crying in the dressing room? And I hate snapping at me kids. Yeah, that was me. I was “that mom” today. And… I still feel like crying.

I don’t like shopping. I like window shopping where I don’t have to worry about trying anything on or looking at price tags or anything like that. Actual shopping I  find very stressful, especially with a 4 yr old who acts like a two year old who won’t stop antagonizing her brother and an almost two year old who won’t stop squealing and screaming and pulling clothes off their hangers.

I know my husband meant well and meant for me to go do something to make myself feel special which I almost never make the time myself to do for myself so it really was the perfect ploy… but with two young children in tow, shopping was just a straight up joke.

Maybe that’s why I was crying… I was really frustrated, don’t get me wrong, but… I don’t know. It didn’t help that every dress was ugly and very… Stepford-wife-ish. Not my cup of tea. Give me a Victorian, Gypsy, Greek goddess gown any day.

I’m hard to shop for, on a good day. I’m a bitch when it comes to shopping. I just am. And all the stress and everything doesn’t help. I don’t manage my stress well. I try, and I try to keep learning new ways that might be more helpful than the way s I’m trying that don’t seem to be working.

Leave a Reply

