Home » Life » Surprise Somethings

Surprise Somethings

The Real Neat Blog Award & Premio Dardos  Bloggers Award  I have been splattering my brains against the page for most of my life. Between health issues and my family I have not been making time for myself to write for the last few years. It wasn’t until recently I felt I was cognitively clear enough to write anything… that made sense to anyone outside of my head. I’ve had a few snippets of time over the last week or two and have given myself some “me time” to figure out what I’m thinking. It was like a light turned on. Something in me clicked and the gears started turning and it was like my emotions were flowing again instead of building up to bursting and erupting all over whatever I was doing.

There are a lot of quirks to my personality, a lot of dysfunction brought about by upbringing or PTSD or whatever you want to label it. I am very affected by my environment. I’m one of those hypersensitive personalities that will be crying because you’re upset even though you’re not upset enough to cry yourself. It’s exhausting,  can be hard to control, and probably makes me sound a little crazy. I’m good with that. I’m me. And I am who I am and what I am for my own sake and for the sakes of those I love and who have loved me. Yay, I’m okay with that.

One of those quirks I mentioned? I have a hard time accepting compliments, but I would like to thank holesinmysocks for nominating me for these awards. In acceptance of this nomination I have to answer seven questions of holesinmysocks choosing:

Rules for The Real Neat Blog Award:

1) Put the award logo on your blog.
2) Answer 7 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
3) Thank the person who nominated you, linking to their blog.
4) Nominate any number of bloggers you like, linking to their blogs.
5) Let them know you nominated them (by commenting on their blog etc.)

1. Stranded on an island, name the three things you would bring.

Three things… I don’t suppose I could list my husband among those, could I? No? Dammit… Okay, here goes. As I have no idea what kind of island I’ve happened upon my first order of business would be clean drinking water or making water drinkable, so, some sort of water filtration system for those first few… whatever (days, weeks, months, and so on), maybe one like HYDRAID, Secondly, a knife, and I don’t mean like a kitchen butcher knife, I mean a Crocodile Dundee “That’s not a knife, this is a knife” kind of knife. Thirdly, probably something to keep me warm while I sleep, such as one of those sleeping bags that can withstand up to -30 degrees. (I suppose I should have listed a helicopter, fuel, and a cellphone, but that was just too easy. 😉 )

2. You’re favorite movie of all time….

That’s a hard one. The Dark Crystal had a huge impact on me as a kid, but so did The Never Ending Story… I’m  gonna say the latter. I was always a bit of a… darker… child and that film really spoke to me and so many emotions I went through so often. It was but one of many factors that reinforced in my heart and soul that I should always strive to do what is right and not what is easy even, and perhaps especially, if it seems a lost cause.

3. The one thing that makes you the happiest…

This is a difficult question as so many people confuse happiness and joy. What makes me happy, temporarily lifts my spirits? Life; my kids, my husband, the wind dancing through the leaves at lunchtime, or the birds singing us to sleep each night and waking us each morning. Joy? My faith that no matter what happens there is something better. I may not know where, when, how, or why it is finally revealed or re-revealed to me, but it is out there. Sometimes I catch glimpses of it in my children’s eyes, sometimes I feel it tugging at me from just beyond the lonely ocean horizon, but it always keeps me searching for I am a curious creature by nature and I am not seeking a destination but instead a journey.

4. The one song on your playlist…ipod…laptop…computer…that you are embarrassed to have but secretly love..

I can’t say any of my song choices are secrets, I pretty much wear my heart and soul right out there on my sleeve, so to speak. If I have an opinion I have no issues making it known. But embarrassed? Well… lol… *sigh* probably “Timber” by Pitbull and featuring Kei$ha (not sure if I spelled that right). Not normally the type of artists I would want to support but my husband introduced me to the song and there are too many fond memories with that as the soundtrack now.

5. Why you decided to become a blogger…

I’m not sure I ever really decided to become a blogger, per se. My boyfriend at the time for me involved with Xanga over a decade ago because that was the popular thing to do with his friends. When Xanga closed down a bunch of “us” switched over to WordPress or tried to hang on through the glitches of Xanga 2.0, so here I am, displaced. I’ve been writing and or drawing my emotions out since I can remember. I have journals upon journals. A blog was just another journal amid my ever growing library.

6. If you could live the life of someone famous for a day…who would it be?

I cannot imagine I would enjoy many of the “famous” options… the historical ones are usually famous for how tragic things were whereas the present day options are all watched under a microscope. You know, I’m gonna say J. K. Rowling. Who wouldn’t want to spend a day with family and seeing how another writer’s mind works from the inside?

7. Name one thing on your “bucket” list….

To LEAVE. I have never been outside of U.S. borders except for a short stint at Niagara Falls as an infant. I wanted to see the world as a kid. I wanted to experience other cultures and other foods, to understand why people think, believe, and do the things they do. I wanted to connect. With what I couldn’t even tell you, but there is a draw to adventuring I simply cannot resist.

My questions to you, fellow nominee(s) are as follows:

  1. What experience has impacted your life the most?
  2. Why do you write and in your chosen style?
  3. Google the emotional combination you’re feeling right now and post the image that best speaks to you from the results.
  4. If money were no object, what would you choose as your occupation?
  5. If you could live anywhere but where you are living now, where would it be?
  6. If you woke up with amnesia, what would make you happy?
  7. What is your favorite sweet and why?

Rules for The Premio Dardos Bloggers Award:

1. When you accept the award, post it on your blog along with the name of the person who nominated you and put a link to their blog.
2. Include the image of the award in your post.
3. Pass it on to 15 other bloggers worthy of this acknowledgement.

I think I accomplished all of this above with the other award except for my own nominees.

Ladies and Gents, I give you your next nominees:

https://buddy71.wordpress.com

https://ordinarybutloud.wordpress.com

https://delicatelie.wordpress.com

http://stonecityblog.com

https://myxldove.wordpress.com

https://lonelywanderer2.wordpress.com

And… honestly, those are about the only blogs I’m reading/I know who are active right now. I literally just picked up starting to blog again this week and am kind of at a lost. I can always come back and update the list, I suppose… which seems tacky… but I’ll do it anyways because I know it’ll make someone’s day the way it made mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

